Beauty Basics

Call them what you will, HG(holy grail), must haves or staples.. here is what I buy and use over and over again.

DAYWEAR

FOUNDATION:

I like a dewy finish and don’t like heavy coverage during the day. I find it too much and a bit ageing. My favourite base is Mac Face and Body Foundation. This is a light foundation, gives a lovely glow and can be layered for a heavier coverage. The only thing about this is it needs a little powder to set it. I try and buy my Mac products in the airport or abroad as they are much better value. Expect to pay about €30-35 for this, though you do get more than usual in the bottle.

MASCARA:

Though I have never really settled on my very favourite of all time mascara, I tend to rebuy Clinique High Impact mascara more than the rest. It’s very black and it thickens and lengthens without clumping. I also like Estee Lauder Sumptuous. Both of these are about €24

CONCEALER:

Recommended to me by a lady in the know, Ellie Balfe, Clinique Airbrush Concealer is fantastic. Lightens dark circles and doesn’t rest in lines. I will most definitely be buying this again. Around €20 for this baby.

BRONZER:

I love a bit of bronzer, even in the winter, I need it to give me skin a bit of life. Despite having used Benefit Hoola (a bit muddy for me), Guerlain Bronzing Powder (too orange), I have settled on Nars Laguna. It has a slight bit of shimmer but nothing wag-like. Again, I try to buy this abroad (sorry Irish economy!) I usually pay about €30 for this and it lasts me ages.

BLUSHER:

This is a hard one. I have about 25 blushers… I continually use Benefit Dandelion, a soft pink, Mac Well Dressed, again a baby pink, Mac Springsheen in the summer ( a coral sheen from this) or Mac Blushbaby for a soft matte shade.

image from instyle.co.ukEYESHADOWS AND LINERS:

I try not to go too crazy during the day (I save that for the witching hours). I always wear Mac Shroom, it’s gives a barely there sheen and brightens the whole eye. I’d say I’ve about 15 of these so far. That’s a good sign!

I also love Mac Satin Taupe, a fabulous versatile colour. A sheeny brown that looks really lovely on its own for the day. Mac shadows cost about €15

I love eyeliner but it can look harsh during the day so I like to stick to natural shades. I love Mac Teddy and Urban Decay 24/7 liner in Bourbon. Each about €18

pic via www.makeupandbeautyblog.com

POWDER:

I need a powder to set my foundation and to stop shine,  I have been using a Chanel one, Poudre Universelle Compacte, it doesn’t mattify too much but keeps my make-up on. I don’t like a powdery finish so I use a light hand and a stippling brush (Mac 187 or similar)

LIPGLOSS:

I am that woman who carries around 47 lipglosses and uses the same two.. Here they are: Mac Plushglass in Ample Pink and Elizabeth Arden 8 hour cream (who doesn’t love this stuff?!)

Reading back I now appear to be very high maintenance.. I’m not I swear.. just don’t ask my sisters!

One thought on “Beauty Basics

  1. I recently discovered Bobbi Brown – corrector for under eyes is the best thing i’ve ever used to hide tired eyes. The blusher/lip combo in a pot is great too

Leave a Reply

