My Bundle of Books

Here is a little list of what I’ve brought on holidays to read. I have borrowed some from friends, got given them as presents or bought them myself. I’m thinking about buying some sort of reader as I think I may cause myself some injuries carrying around this many books in a bag!

1. Alone in Berlin by Hans Fallada

I have heard great things about this so borrowed Cathal’s copy. Based in war torn Berlin, one man’s tale of bravery against the Nazi regime. Nice cover too!

Alone in Berlin by Hans Fallada

2. Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

I haven’t read a whole lot of Steinbeck except for Travels with Charley (which I loved) and The Pearl. This is probably the most famous one and I’m looking forward to reading it.

The Grapes of Wrath, John Steinbeck

3. Let the Great World Spin by Colum Mc Cann

Having read This Side of Brightness (possibly my favourite book I’ve read all year) I couldn’t wait to read more Mc Cann. I’ve read a little of this and it’s narration is similar and I’m already hooked.

Let the Great World Spin, Colum Mc Cann

4. The Dark by John Mc Gahern

I like Irish writers best and Mc Gahern is up there with my all-time favourites. This is only a little book but, in true Mc Gahern style, he doesn’t need many words to create an amazing story.

The Dark, John Mc Gahern

5. The Other Side of the Bridge by Mary Lawson

Recommended by a friend who has similar taste in literature. I like the look of this one.

The Other Side of the Bridge, Mary Lawson

 

It’s about 33 degrees here now so I’m going to hit the beach with Mc Cann as company. Have a lovely Monday all x

Leave a Reply

