Tried and Tested: Tinted Moisturisers

This review is by Áine, a fellow fashion fiend,  make-up mistress, and the Pale Princess of Trickling Beauty.

Summer- or so it should be if we didn’t live in the rainiest place in Europe!
Though we don’t always get the weather here, it is nice to lighten up foundations and face products when the sun does peep out.
I love tinted moisturiser for summer- and for no makeup days. I can find it a little hard to get a good pale shade, but here are some favourites I’ve tried.

At the moment I am loving Sephora’s Perfecting Tinted Moisturiser in light 15 nude. I picked it up in a New York Sephora about two months ago and have been using it a lot since (and wish i had picked up a second tube!)It glides on nicely, no need for lots of blending. I find it goes on best with fingers then I lightly buff some Mac Mineralize Powder on top. It has spf 20 and is oil free, and has a nice neutral scent. It isn’t watery like some tinted offerings, and hasn’t blocked my pores. It cost around 20 dollars, and I’d invest in another tube for certain.

Sephora Perfecting Tinted Moisturizer

I’m used to use Smashbox’s Sheer Focus Tinted Moisturiser when I had a bit more colour in my face(for colour read freckles) as the shade range doesn’t go very pale. I choose the Light shade, it also has spf 15. I find you need to give the bottle a good shake as the liquid can separate slightly and be a little watery. It works well with a bit of light powder over it and a bit of light bronzer. This costs €30 but I picked it up cheaper in the airport.

Smashbox Sheer Focus

Mac Mineralize Skinfinish is a Holy Grail product for me now- I have gone through about four(one sadly lost to a nightclub floor in Milan). I find it a lovely formulation, buildable and easy to buff in with a kabuki brush. I choose the Light shade, and most often buy it in Dublin airport, where it retails at €28. It can be used as a foundation on its own, a setting powder, to damp down shine, or as a contour/highlight. I love it and its part of my everyday routine- but use a light hand and lots of buffing!

Mac Skinfinish Natural

So there you have it, a few choices for light coverage in the summer months in shades that actually suit our porcelain skins.

One thought on “Tried and Tested: Tinted Moisturisers

Leave a Reply

