Make-up Wardrobe: Eyeshadows

This by Áine…

Satin Taupe by MAC

One of my all-time favourites for my greeny-brown eyes. It is a taupe shade with slight shimmer and blends beautifully. It can be used on its own, or over lighter shades for definition. It lasts really well, I use it at least three times a week and have had my little pot for a year now- although I’m about to hit the pan. Expect to pay around €15 in BTs or less in the airport.

Mac Satin Taupe

Essence Quattro Eyeshadow in To Die For

I am loving this and it was around €4! A quad of two light shades, one a dupe for mac’s pale Shroom and two browns, one bronze, one coffee coloured. They last well, blend well and one quad did me on holidays, wear the shades alone, wet as liners or combine all the looks. I used the darkest shade as my brow product.

Essence To Die For Quad

Mac Shroom

My all time favourite base shade and it looks nice all over the eye (several coats may be needed) with a navy liner to define. Also sometimes as a little browbone highlighter or to brighten the inner corners of the eyes. Around €15 but you will have one pot forever!

Mac Shroom

Gosh Eyeshadow Stick in Love that Gold

I really rate this, it is a dupe for the Mac Shadesticks and about a third of the price, plus I find they blend far better and last better (i.e no breaking in half and drying out like my Mac Sharkskin) I use it on its own, as a base for a glittery eye and for smokey eyes. Find it in Awear or in a local chemist- for less than a tenner.

For going out….

I got Urban Decay’s Ammo Shadow Box on the recommendation of product junkie Siún almost four years ago, and I still have it. It is fun for a different eye- like a bronzey smokey look.  I love to pile on the gold maui wowie shade over a pencil and line with navy, it eliminates the fall out you can get with Urban Decay glitter shades and looks really cool.  The softer rose gold shades and peachy ones make a nice neutral eye. Can be found in Debenhams or House of Fraser, around €30.

Ammo Shadow Box by Urban Decay

What are the top eye colours and brands? Is it possible to have less than 5 shades? What is your ultimate go to eyeshadow?

2 thoughts on “Make-up Wardrobe: Eyeshadows

  1. Brilliant idea for a post. I’m all about the neutral shadows most of the time with my favourites being Maybelline’s Silken Taupe, three No7 shadows from a palette that have no names or numbers and my newly aquired Inglot palette.

    I’m trying to be more adventurous with my shadow colours though as I have lots of bright shades that I rarely wear. Having said that I now want that Essence quad and some of the GOSH shadow sticks.

  2. Having spend a fair few cent in MAC over the years creating my own palettes, I’m loving Urban Decay’s Naked palette. But agree that MAC Shroom is a staple – just love it.

Leave a Reply

