Restaurant Review: Crackbird

After all of the cyber hype I’ve seen and heard about what was once a pop-up restaurant and now a permanent feature of South William St, I’d been itching to try this place. Essentially, a chicken based restaurant with quirky menu details and interiors, this place has been making a stir.

Addictive Chicken

We went for lunch yesterday. On arrival, I was given a really cute pot of lemon water, by a nice waiter. We had a little perusal at the menu and decided on lemon chilli wings, lemon garlic bay leaf brochettes, a collection of three dips, a side of cous cous and potato croquettes.

Firstly, everything was beautifully presented, but I felt the taste fell down a bit. The wings were big and full of meat but a little sweet for my liking. The brochettes were also nice but not fabulous, and would’ve been a little bland without the dips. The cous cous was ok, and only just. Not much taste and served cold. The croquettes were tasty and had a nice light texture. My favourite thing about the place was the whipped feta and lemon dip, it was really gorgeous.

Chicken Wings

I’m not sure what I was expecting, but it certainly not what it cracked up to be (excuse my very bad pun..). It wasn’t expensive, but it wasn’t great.

Leave a Reply

