Healthy Habits: Lunch Lovelies

Ok, so you’ve started well with breakfast, tús maith leath na hoibre and all that so next up is lunch.

I bring my lunch to work as much of the food, even the ‘healthy’ stuff ain’t so healthy. Leftovers of the previous night’s dinner makes up most of it, with supplementary veg, usually. My best tips are:

1.Experiment and to keep an open mind when it comes to healthy ideas. I didn’t think it’d be easy to find so much really lovely tasting non-wheat no-sugar lunch.

2. Be prepared. You’ll not get very far with an empty fridge. Shopping at the start of the week and having a few ideas is the only way to go. I find Pinterest is brilliant for inventive ways to eat healthily.

3. Do some research. A lot of what we think is healthy isn’t. Read packets and start embracing your local fruit and veg shop. Good quality ingredients make a huge difference

It also saves me lots of cash which means more money for clothes! Win win, I say.

Here are a few of my recent favourites:

Quinoa, almonds, chilli, lemon roasted cauliflower, feta and rosemary.. and a pile of spinach!

Chickpeas, tomatoes, rocket and sunflower seeds. Oh and basil pesto dressing.

Quinoa, roast curried cauliflower, feta cheese and grated carrot.

Balsamic roasted parnsips, sugarsnap peas, tomatoes and chickpeas

Soups are also welcome and convenient and cheap ways to stay healthy. My favourites are curried parsnip (roast the parsnips for extra sweetness), spinach or broccoli with toasted flaked almonds. It’s worth making a good-sized batch but I find I can’t eat the same thing for more than two days (fickle like that!) so I usually dream something else up.

I hope that was of some help. Next up, dinner!

4 thoughts on “Healthy Habits: Lunch Lovelies

  1. I love the idea of roasting Cauliflower. Can I ask do you add the curry powder to the cauliflower before roasting or after?

    Thanks for the wonderful ideas above,

    Louise

  2. I love spinach, and I love quinoa. Two vital ingredients in my life. I just need to get myself organised. Whenever I don’t bother to make lunch I end up eating a mountain of carbs from the canteen and feel sluggish all afternoon.

  3. Pingback: You can afford to eat healthy foods | The Decision to Change

Leave a Reply

