Dinner Winners

As I tend to go running on Mondays and Wednesdays and do TRX and kettlebell training on Thursdays eating for fuel is the name of the game, on those days.

Before exercising  I’ll eat something small. Banana and organic natural yoghurt with honey and cinnamon, an avocado on crackers or the like. When I return, I usually eat something like an omelette with lots of veg or a stirfry. I’m not a big meat-eater anyway, so veg and fish make up most of my diet.

However, If I’m at home for the evening or at the weekends, I really enjoy thinking about food, researching new ideas and giving them a go. I find Pinterest is a fantastic source for things I’d never thought of, roasted cauliflower is the stuff of dreams, I tell ya!

 

Hake with toasted almonds, asparagus with parmesan shavings and steam sugarsnap peas.

 

Lean steak, mashed sweet potato, chickpeas, chorizo, blackpudding and feta.

On the topic of cauliflower (one thing I didn’t think I’d be mentioning on my fashion and beauty blog!), here’s a link to the most lovely cauliflower-based pizza. http://carolanneskitchen.com/2012/08/23/cauliflower-crust-pizza/

Wheat free and tastes so good.

Cauliflower based pizza, no really!

One more thing I’ve realised in my quest for filling my belly healthily is that you’ve got to open your mind. By that, I mean not always reaching for a bottle of sauce to season, try using herbs and lemons, limes and spices instead. It means you know what’s going into your food and save lots of cash!

Lemon and coriander seasoned prawn stirfry

 

I hope that helpful, not too preachy and somewhat enjoyable. Next up, snacks!

 

4 thoughts on “Dinner Winners

  1. omg im not a meat eater usually buit that black pudding chorizo thingy looks amazing!!! also i have got to give that cauliflower pizza a go!!! :)

  2. I think the biggest difference I made to my diet and cooking skills was getting rid of pre-made sauces, and through a mixture of recipes and experimentation, I figured out what tastes I love. Of course, it also helped to reduce sugar and salt intake as well.

Leave a Reply

